January 05, 2006

                        Call for Papers

                     5th EUROPT Workshop on  

               Reykjavik, Iceland, June 30 – July 1, 2006



This international workshop is organized by EURO Working
Group on Continuous Optimization (EUROPT;
) directly before the EURO
XXI 2006 meeting. It continues in the line of EUROPT workshops
held: 2000 in Budapest, 2001 in Rotterdam, 2003 in Istanbul and
2004 in Rhodes; EURO Summer Institutes and Mini Conferences,
and our engagement during EURO conferences complete the spectrum of
our group’s meetings.

The workshop aims to bring together researchers from continuous
optimization and from related fields of discrete optimization,
operations research (OR), economy and technology. It intends to
be a forum for the exchange of recent scientific developments and
for the discussion of new trends. The scope of the workshop
includes all aspects of smooth, nonsmooth and discrete
optimization from fundamental research to numerical methods
and applications.

Iceland with its unique nature, our interesting workshop and a
wealth of streams and presentations on Continuous Optimization
and entire OR prepared at the following conference EURO XXI
2006 (
http://www.euro2006.org/) cordially invite you to join us and
spend a precious, unforgettable time with us!

include but are not limited to:

o  linear and nonlinear programming,
o  semidefinite and semi-infinite optimization,
o  complementarity problems,
o  derivative-free optimization,
o  global and stochastic optimization,
o  non-smooth analysis and optimization,
o  optimal control,
o  optimization of technological, bio- and social systems,
o  financial optimization,
o  a Special Topic: Applications in the Energy Sector.

o  Petra Huhn (University of Clausthal, Germany),
o  Alexander Ioffe (Technion, Haifa, Israel),
o  Liqun Qi (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China),
o  Alexander Rubinov (University of Ballarat, Australia),
o  Klaus Schittkowski (University of Bayreuth, Germany),
o  Marc Teboulle (Tel-Aviv University, Israel),
o  Michel Thera (University of Limoges, France).

•  University of Iceland,
•  EUROPT (EURO Working Group on Continuous Optimization),
•  Middle East Technical University, Ankara,
•  University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands.

• EURO (Association of European Operational Research Societies),
• Pinter Consulting Services, Halifax, Canada,    
• EUROPT (EURO Working Group on Continuous Optimization).

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE                            
• Bόlent Karasφzen (Middle East Technical University, METU,
  Ankara, Turkey),
• Bjarni Kristjansson (Maximal Software, London, UK),
• Snjolfur Olafsson (University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland),
• Janos Pinter (Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada),
• Oliver Stein (Technical University Aachen, Germany),
• Georg Still (University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands),
• Gerhard-Wilhelm Weber (Middle East Technical University, METU,  
  Ankara, Turkey)

and our local representative and contact

• Pall Jensson  (University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland).

PROGRAM COMMITTEE                            
• Edward J. Anderson (University of New South Wales, Sydney,
• Adil Bagirov (University of Ballarat, Australia),
• Aharon Ben-Tal (Technion, Haifa, Israel),
• Immanuel Bomze (University of Vienna, Austria),
• Vladimir Demyanov (State University, St. Petersburg, Russia),
• Sjur Didrik Flam (University of Bergen, Norway),
• Omar Ghattas (Carnegie Mellon University),
• Miguel Goberna (University of Alicante, Spain),
• Dick den Hertog (University of Tilburg, The Netherlands),
• Tibor Illes (Eotvos Lorand University of Sciences, Budapest,
• Johannes Jahn (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany),
• Florian Jarre (University of Dόsseldorf, Germany),
• Alejandro Jofre (Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile),
• Hubertus Th. Jongen (Technical University Aachen, Germany),
• George Leitmann (University of California, Berkeley, USA),
• Marco Lopez (University of Alicante, Spain),
• Arkadi Nemirovski (Technion, Haifa, Israel),
• Diethard Pallaschke (University of Karlsruhe, Germany),
• Mustafa Pinar (Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey),
• Boris Polyak (Institute for Control Science, Moscow, Russia),
• Daniel Ralph (University of Cambridge, UK),
• Ralph Tyrell Rockafellar (University of Washington, Seattle, USA),

• Kees Roos (Technical University Delft, The Netherlands),
• Alexander Rubinov (University of Ballarat, Australia),
• Jan J. Rόckmann (Universidad de las Americas, Puebla, Mexico),
• Ekkehard Sachs (University of Trier, Germany),
• Leonidas Sakalauskas (University of Vilnius, Lithuania),
• Steve Smale (University of California, Berkeley, USA),
• Ariela Sofer (George Mason University, Fairfax, Washington DC),
• Marc Teboulle (Tel-Aviv University, Israel),
• Tamas Terlaky (McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada),
• Rainer Tichatschke (University of Trier, Germany),
• Maxim Todorov (Universidad de las Americas, Puebla, Mexico),
• Lieven Vandenberghe (University of California, Los Angeles, USA),
• Luis Nunes Vicente (University of Coimbra, Portugal),
• Roger Wets (University of California, Davis, USA),
• Henry Wolkowicz (University of Waterloo, Canada),
• Shouzhong Zhang (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China).

Please visit the corresponding sides at

Further information will be published soon.

Georg Still  (
g.still@math.utwente.nl)   and
Gerhard-Wilhelm Weber (

We are looking forward to welcoming you on Iceland!


warmly invites you to participation and membership!